Hair, Fashion and Blackness

On Black Style: The Blog

This isn’t directly related to my MRP but I still find it interesting to think about …

When I started studying at Ryerson, I became interested in the ways in which individuals use fashion as a tool to construct their personal identity. For me, hair is a fascinating part of fashion and black identity. I really started to think about hair as fashion when writing a paper for my Fashion and Theory class. For the paper, we were asked to choose an object and articulate it as an item of fashion. I chose the Afro hairstyle during the height of its popularity during the 1960s and 1970s in the United States of America. I won’t go into the details of what I wrote but in basic words I argued that the Afro was a revolutionary item of fashion.  Within the African-American community, especially amongst women, the Afro or the “natural” as it was first…

View original post 495 more words

Leave a Reply

